He initiates and leads many jazz encounters.

All these meetings and experiences, creative and participatory, bring him to rub shoulders with the ONPL (Orchester des pays de La Loire) around the music of Duke Ellington; Pierrick Menuau for the creation of the Superlateef sextet, tribute to Yusef Lateef; Valéry Haumont for a tribute to John Coltrane and Johnny Hartman; trumpeter Eric Le Lann with the Playtime quintet; Jean-Patrick Cosset on the Mix City “Nola's Mood” project; Ethiopian singer Mahmoud Ahmed in Badume's band; and many jazz musicians like Georges Brown, Ricky Ford, Jean "Popof" Chevalier, Steve Potts, Luigi Grasso, Simon Goubert, Emmanuel Bex ...

         For several years within Nantes collectives such as 1name4acrew, Spatule, Coluniamusic, Court-circuit, Pure Capture or even Cie Frasques with the trio (Un) Sung, the Frasques orchestra as well as in the Hoarse quartet with the drummer Arnaud Lechantre, the bassist Fred Chiffoleau and the pianist Guillaume Hazebrouck.

         Since 2016, he joined and participated in the creation of the group Nant / Co of Korean musicians E 'Joun-Ju and Cho Joo-Seon, of the formation "Three Tenors for Emmanuel Bex and Simon Goubert" with Pierrick Menuau and François Ripoche, as well than EOG, The Big Room, Short Fuse, Jazz Sentence, Florian Chaigne Quartet ... and participation in the “The Artist” cine-concert with the ONPL.

selective discography:

• "The great music" The Little Rabbits 2000 Barclay • ATOMIK CIRCUS 2001 Barclay
• “Addis Kan” Badume's band 2007 Innacor records
• Ethiopiques live! 2008 Jack Fébus Films

• CINEMAN 2010 Pathé distribution
• “Nola's Mood” Mix city 2012 Yotanka
• “Order Disorder” Oblik 2014 Ormo records
• “Happy Camper” Hoarse 2017 YOLK records

hoarse.jpg
badume's.jpg
Little rabbits.jpg
order disorder.jpg
mixcity.jpg
cineman.jpg
ethiopiques.jpg
pochette Christmas in jazz.jpg
atomik circus.jpg
dajla.jpg
Bleu-citron-onpl.jpg
duo Merel-Hazebrouck.jpg

© 2021 by pierreyvesmerel.com

Il initie et anime de nombreuses rencontres jazzistiques.

Toutes ces rencontres et expériences ,créatives et participatives,l’amènent à cotoyer l’ONPL (Orchestre des pays de La Loire)autour de la musique de Duke Ellington ; Pierrick Menuau pour la création du Superlateef sextet,tribute à Yusef Lateef ; Valéry Haumont pour un tribute à John Coltrane et Johnny Hartman ; le trompettiste Eric Le Lann avec le quintet Playtime ; Jean-Patrick Cosset sur le projet «Nola’s Mood» de Mix City ; le chanteur éthiopien Mahmoud Ahmed au sein du Badume’s band ; et de nombreux musiciens de jazz comme Georges Brown,Ricky Ford,Jean «Popof» Chevalier,Steve Potts,Luigi Grasso,Simon Goubert,Emmanuel Bex...

        Depuis plusieurs années au sein de collectifs Nantais comme1name4acrew,Spatule,Coluniamusic,Court-circuit,Pure Capture ou encore la Cie Frasques avec le trio (Un)Sung,le Frasques orchestra ainsi que dans le quartet Hoarse avec le batteur Arnaud Lechantre,le bassiste Fred Chiffoleau et le pianiste Guillaume Hazebrouck.

       Depuis 2016,il rejoint et participe à la création du groupe Nant/Co des musiciennes coréennes E’ Joun-Ju et Cho Joo-Seon ,de la formation «Trois Ténors pour Emmanuel Bex et Simon Goubert» avec Pierrick Menuau et François Ripoche , ainsi qu’aux projets EOG ,The Big Room,Short Fuse,Jazz Sentence,Florian Chaigne Quartet ...et participation au ciné-concert «The Artist» avec l’ONPL .

discographie sélective :

• «La grande musique» The Little Rabbits 2000 Barclay

• ATOMIK CIRCUS 2001 Barclay
• «Addis Kan» Badume’s band 2007 Innacor records
• Ethiopiques live ! 2008 Les Films Jack Fébus

• CINEMAN 2010 Pathé distribution
• «Nola’s Mood» Mix city 2012 Yotanka
• «Order Disorder» Oblik 2014 Ormo records
• «Happy Camper» Hoarse 2017 YOLK records

hoarse.jpg
badume's.jpg
Little rabbits.jpg
order disorder.jpg
mixcity.jpg
cineman.jpg
pochette Christmas in jazz.jpg
atomik circus.jpg
dajla.jpg
Bleu-citron-onpl.jpg

© 2021 by pierreyvesmerel.com